Month: September 2013

  • Gone, but not forgotten. The wallet photo.

    album

     

     

     

     

     

    Without fall, every fall, my refrigerator magnets are on wallet overload.   School photographs are usually taken in the first few weeks of the school year.  Also, summer beach sessions, portrait sessions from warm summer days and in general, new baby photographs adorn the top portion of my fridge along with the new Eagles schedule. They remained there until spring when they were then put into albums.

    There was a time that one could barely see the white behind the pictures.  Now, it seems rather empty.  The Phillies schedule sits there waiting to meet the can as well as many un-used magnets.  So, what happened?  Frankly, I believe cell phones happened. I don’t think that this is entirely the reason, but for the most part, I think it attributes to the demise of the wallet photograph.  People don’t hand them out anymore.  Even in my studio when clients order photograph, I always ask if they forgot to order wallet photographs.  The answer is mostly “no” now. 

    So, why do I believe cell phones have had an impact on ordering wallets?  Let’s face it, many of us take photos with our phones.  We show friends and family pictures more now than ever before.  When cell phones did not have cameras, wallet sales were up.  People are not taking more photographs than ever.  Printing them and giving them out is another story.  I personally think that people would rather show a photograph on their cell phone than to open their wallet and show a hard copy.

    I could be wrong, but this is my opinion.  Could this also be the demise of regular photographs as well?  When was the last time you had a photograph printed?  Not from a professional photographer, but just a regular snap shot.  Say for example the photographs you hopefully took on your child’s first day of school.  Have they been printed yet or are they still on your camera phone?

    The evolution of the printed photograph is changing rapidly.  It is sad to see a portion of it break off.  Wallets for my studio were not a huge sale item, but they were almost always added on to family photographs orders.  Now, what used to be an “after thought” is no longer a thought at all.

    Although the pizza menu has filled up some of the fridge spots where wallets once adorned, I still miss seeing the year to year transition in photographs of loved ones.  Unfortunately, I don’t think it will return to where it was ten years ago.  I guess it’s time for me to adapt and maybe even take them off the price list.  Sad… for everyone.

    If you have any questions or comments, always feel free to send the studio an email at lerephoto@gmail.com.  Or, follow the studio on Facebook at Donna Lere Photographer.  Instant gratification on Twitter @donnalerephoto

     

     

     

     

  • You have to get out of bed and look for it!

    This past weekend I headed up to the middle of Pennsylvania where my husband and I have a very small hunting cabin. (When I say “we”, I really mean “him”. ) Now that my kids are grown, the family vacations now include the newer family members such as a spouse, a girlfriend, and a grandbaby. Don’t forget two hunting dogs and two Chihuahuas. Yes, I did say a total of 4 dogs and 7 people in a 24 x 24 cabin. Such closeness can be good if the weather is good. If it rains and we are all stuck in the cabin, there could possibly be a meltdown on my part after 4 wet dogs try sleeping on me.

    So, we decided to put on a small addition. Basically so the dogs could spread out. After 48 hours of hammering, sawing, yelling, and cooking, I had to reclaim some inner peace. I brought with me one small point and shoot camera to document the addition. In the mountains of Pa, the weather is far different than here in Bucks County. The mornings are quiet with no sounds whatsoever except birds tweeting. Most mornings start with a wee bit of fog. The temp is always very cool at daybreak.

    Early morning shoots are something that I am used to now in my business. I always try to photograph portrait sessions in early morning or around sunset. When I take a vacation day, the last thing on my mind is being out the door at sunrise. In this case however, it was a matter of salvation. Some people meditate. Taking photographs is my meditation.

    The area where our cabin is located in Pennsylvania, was once a very booming farm and logging area back around the 1930’s. There are also many coal mines which added to the growth of the community. Then, of course, one by one, businesses started to close, coal mines shut down, lumbering stopped and eventually, most of the farmers pulled out. It’s like one day they just walked away leaving farm equipment in the field as a reminder of someone’s failed dream. Farmers are one of the hardest workers in America. It’s obvious they don’t do it for the money because the immense amount of hours worked for the little pay the get.

    Finishing my coffee, I grabbed my wee little point and shoot and headed for a very small cemetery about ½ mile away. The dogs were none too happy that they weren’t invited. I had been to this cemetery many times before because the graves in it reflect the farmers in the immediate area dating back to about 1830. The gravesites are still visible with not just born and death dates, but the exact age… i.e. 4 years, 3 months, 2 days. Many of the graves are filled with children. Life was hard on the farm and back then the list of illnesses that could take a child were numerous compared to today.

    Never having been to this location at sunrise, I was quite surprised to see the morning fog sitting on the edge of the cemetery next to a farmer’s field. The cemetery itself adjoins a very large farmer’s field of one of the very well known farmer’s in the area. When he passed several years ago, his family buried him in this cemetery facing his field. They also put a bench next to his grave for anyone visiting. The morning light was getting stronger and I knew at any minute, the fog would lift. Next to his grave sat a piece of old farm equipment on the other side of the fence on “his” property. I took two photographs with my wee camera on “auto”. I sat on the bench and watched the fog lift a few minutes later to see acres and acres of farm land now overgrown. This farmer’s great great grandfather had a vision.

    This picture is certainly not anything special. Just a photograph of a field with a piece of equipment left behind years past. But for me, it has a story. Every photograph that you take should certainly have a “story”. That’s what makes it special. As I sat there, I saw what past generations saw every morning as they started their work day. Their struggle to dream the American dream, work hard and own a piece of America.

    The finished image on the bottom is what I imagined this family saw everyday. I added a little warming filter along with some contrast. The row of trees in the background are barely visible but look much better with some contrast.

    My journey back to the “under construction cabin” was filled with amazing thoughts of what life was like on that farm back in the 1800’s. If not for this photograph, I would never have been taken away on a separate vacation within a vacation.

    IMG_0156

    First approach, I could see amazing light in the distance.   This image straight out of point and shoot camera.

     

    Straight out of camera

    Moving closer, I took another shot…. This one also straight out of camera.

    Dream a dream...

    This is how I saw it in my mind.  Cropped and a warming filter applied.